Children & Social Work Bill – back in the Lords on Tues 8 Nov This is a charter for rape and social cleansing. We must stop it.

The Bill we have been opposing since the summer is back in the House of Lords for report stage on Tuesday 8 November at 3pm. We need as many people as possible to email or call expressing their strong opposition to the Bill – not only to privatisation but to all its measures, particularly the push for adoption.

Community Care reported that the government has admitted “errors in its handling of [Isabelle Trowler] the chief social worker’s ‘conflict of interest’.

This bill is being debated just as the benefit cap comes in: 88,000 families may be left with not enough money for rent and food; 500,000 children impoverished. No one knows how many will then be taken into care or adopted as their parents are accused of “neglect” for no longer being able to keep a roof over their heads!

The Bill can be defeated but we need to mobilise now as it comes back to the Lords and when it goes to the Commons.
A model letter you can use to make your case is below. A number of mothers have written in from their own experience and are getting good responses!  The emails and numbers of Peers to contact are also below. 

You can also sign a petition against the Bill Protect the rights of vulnerable children and care leavers.

If you have any questions email us back or call us on: 020 7482 2496.

MODEL LETTER

Dear Lord/Lady…

I am totally opposed to the Children and Social Work Bill. As a mother/grandmother/dad/teacher/concerned person… use your own experience and the points below to make your case.

  •  The government push for adoption is cruel and traumatic to children and families, especially mothers and grandmothers.
  •  It disregards children’s views, wishes and feelings about the people they love and want to live and/or have contact with.
  •  There is no support for mothers and kinship carers (family and friends) only for adoptive and foster parents.
  •  It discriminates against low income families, who are most likely to have their children taken into care, especially with the benefit cap and other cuts. Some are also families of colour and/or disabled, discriminated on that basis too.
  •  Children in care are four times more likely to experience mental health difficulties.
  •  Removing statutory protections and privatising children’s services is a charter for rape and social cleansing.

I urge you to support the following amendments to the Children & Social Work Bill, but also to speak out for children and their birth families and demand that financial support be available to keep families together rather than to tear us apart.

Your name, etc…

Children and Social Work Bill amendments

CLAUSE 9
After CL 9, AMDT 33, New Clause: Profit-making and children’s social services functions

After CL 9 AMDT 35, New Clause: Duty to report on outcomes

CLAUSE 28
After CL 28, AMDT 52, New Clause: Whistleblowing arrangement in relation to looked after children and children at risk

After CL 28, AMDT 53, New Clause: Public interest disclosure in relation to looked after children and children at risk

CLAUSE 29
AMDT 57, leave out CL 29

CLAUSE 30
AMDT 58, leave out CL 30

CLAUSE 31
AMDT 64, leave out CL 31

CLAUSE 32
AMDT 66, leave out CL 32

CLAUSE 33
AMDT 68, leave out CL 33

After CL 33: AMDT 69, New Clause: UN Convention on the Rights of the Child

After CL 33: AMDT 70, New Clause: Safeguarding Unaccompanied Refugee Children

CLAUSE 40
After CL 40: AMDT 72, New Clause: Whistleblowing arrangement in relation to social workers

After CL 40: AMDT 73, New Clause: Public interest disclosure by social workers

Lords names and emails

Leading on amendments are Lords Watson (Lab), Lord Hunt (Lab), Lord Ramsbotham (Crossbench) and Baroness Pinnock (Lib Dem).

TITLE NAME PARTY PHONE EMAIL
Lord Watson Labour 020 7219 5353 watsonm@parliament.uk
Lord Hunt Labour 020 7219 2030 huntp@parliament.uk
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbench 020 7219 8752 ramsbothamd@parliament.uk
Baroness Pinnock Lib Dem 020 7219 5353 pinnockk@parliament.uk
Baroness Hodgson Conservative 020 7219 5353 hodgsonf@parliament.uk
Baroness Benjamin Lib Dem 020 7219 8901 benjaminf@parliament.uk
Lord Bichard Crossbench 020 7219 5353 m.bichard@btinternet.com
Baroness Dean Labour 020 7219 5353 deanb@parliament.uk
Lord Farmer Conservative 020 7219 6565 callans@parliament.uk
Lord Brown sdbrown@blueyonder.co.uk
Baroness Cavendish Conservative contactholmember@parliament.uk
Baroness Howarth Crossbench 020 7219 5353 howarthv@parliament.uk
Baroness Howe Crossbench 020 7219 5353 howee@parliament.uk
Baroness Bakewell Labour 020 7219 2921 joanbakewell@googlemail.com
Baroness Boothroyd Crossbench boothroyd@parliament.uk
Baroness Lister Labour 020 7219 8984 listerr@parliament.uk
Lord Listowel Crossbench 020 7219 5353 listowelf@parliament.uk
Lord Mackay Conservative 020 7219 6041 mackayjp@parliament.uk
Baroness Massey Labour 020 7219 8653 masseyd@parliament.uk
Baroness Meacher Crossbench 020 7219 4081 meachermc@parliament.uk
Lord O’Shaugh-

nessy

Conservative 020 7219 5353 contactholmember@parliament.uk
Lord Bishop of Durham 013 8860 2576 Bishop.of.durham@durham.
anglican.org
Baroness Shephard Conservative 020 7219 5353 westm@parliament.uk
Baroness Tonge Lib Dem 020 7219 4827 tongej@parliament.uk
Baroness Tyler Lib Dem 020 7219 3606 tylerc@parliament.uk
Baroness Walmsley Lib Dem 020 7219 6047 walmsleyj@parliament.uk
Lord Warner None 020 7219 4540 warnern@parliament.uk
Lord Wills Labour 020 7219 5353 willisg@parliament.uk

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Filed under Children's rights

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>